Search
  • Regina Grimm

Book Review: Wedding Weekend by Rachel Magee


You’re invited to a sunny beach town for a witty, heartwarming romance

that’s perfect for fans of Debbie Mason, Lee Tobin McClain, and Jenny Hale


When Brody broke up with Paige and went to Europe, he suggested that someday, they’d pick up right where they left off. A hopeless romantic, she believed him.


But when they meet again, Brody’s dating a gorgeous actress.


They’re all going to attend the same wedding, and Paige plans to win Brody back. She even enlists her best friend’s brother, Aiden, to pretend to date her and make her ex jealous. A breezy, charming restaurant owner, Aiden actually avoids serious relationships, but as a fake boyfriend, he’s perfect.


As old friends and exes take part in wedding preparations and enjoy the beauty of the Florida coast, they begin to see themselves—and each other—in a new light.


This summer romance includes a free Hallmark original recipe for BBQ Brisket Tacos with Sunshine Slaw.



Regina's Thoughts... aka, The Review


Talk about your slow burn… I mean, so slow by the time we got to it, the book was over. This sugar-sweet story follows Paige - a beautiful, beloved, if slightly broken-hearted - wedding planner who encounters the “one that got away” -Brody - when he shows up with a stunning actress on his arm, freshly returned from a year in Europe.


Luckily for Paige, Aiden, her best friend’s older brother is there to cushion the blow. Aiden is a successful entrepreneur who has never felt the urge to be tied down - not by a lover nor a business - but as Paige’s friend he agrees to a mutually beneficial agreement - Paige will act as his girlfriend in front of his investors, and Aiden will act has her boyfriend in front of Brody.


The plan is to break up Brody and his pretty-but-boring new girl and land the deal of a lifetime - all at one beach wedding.


I enjoyed the characters, the setting, and the romance - mostly for the supporting characters. One of the driving plot points was the MC hurting her ankle. The whole forced injury, hobbling along in a walking cast trope was a bit bland. Often it felt very superfluous, or overly contrived for no clear purpose. I didn't think it drove the story forward, and even when opportunities were created out of the injury, they seemed to fall flat or just miss the mark.


I kept waiting for the story to progress beyond “but she is in love with Brody” and “he doesn’t do commitment” observations. Early on, the author establishes these key plot points, but then things seem to stall out. The obstacles the MCs face didn't seem to grow or evolve. They just "were", and that got a little repetitive. Watching the characters run in circles around these two overly developed points was near agony.


I did enjoy how Magee crafted the relationships between the girlfriends, especially the evolution of a pseudo-friendship between frenemies Paige, and Brody’s new girlfriend. It was sweet and thoughtful and - frankly - the way I want to be with my girls. This was the most interesting character development to watch and really made me want Paige to end up in her happily ever after.


As heat ratings go… I don’t have a ‘no peppers’ rating, but this was a green pepper at its “hottest”. Beach Wedding Weekend is the literary equivalent of thinking you are opening salsa, and accidentally opening pasta sauce. I would not recommend adding this book to your TBR if you are in the mood for some steam.


If you want a sweet, vaguely satisfying, in-love-with-my-best-friend’s-older-brother-and-never-realized-it trope, bundled nicely in an idyllic weekend-wedding-trip-to-the-beach setting, this is your holiday read.


At the end of the day, they can't all be my favorite, right? I won’t be seeking out more from this author, but I finished it and it was a refreshing shift in my usual reading pace, so I appreciated the unexpected reading experience.



With Love,





Regina Grimm is the author of erotic fairytales, written for the uninhibited readers 18+. Check out her books - Snow White and the Wicked Curse: Chapter 1, Snow White and the Vicious Curse: Chapter 2, Snow White and the Seven Thieves: Chapter 3, and the final chapter, Snow White and the Poisoned Apple. Prefer to read the whole story at once? Grab your copy of Snow: The Complete Erotic Series now !




Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | GoodReads | Pinterest | Website | Email

2 views0 comments